Board of Directors

Jul 26, 2018 /


Uvalde Memorial Hospital board of trustees appointed new officers at their monthly meeting on July 24. Raul Zamora ended his term as board president and was honored at the meeting with a resolution in recognition of 38 years of dedicated service as a trustee and most recently as board president. Zamora has served on the board of directors for the hospital since December 1980 and his most recent term as president from July 1, 2017 through June 30, 2018.

Presenting the honor to Mr. Zamora was incoming president Monica Gutierrez, PhD. Dr. Gutierrez will serve as president from July 1, 2018 through June 30, 2019. Other new officers include William A. Kessler, Jr. as vice-president and Benjamin Elliot as secretary and treasurer. Sandra Boenig, D.O. will be serving as Chief of Staff for the hospital’s active medical staff. Dr. Boenig is a board certified general surgeon with Uvalde Medical and Surgical Associates. Outgoing Chief of Staff is Dr. Jared Reading.

Also serving on the board of trustees for the hospital are Kelly Faglie, Hector Gonazales, PhD, and G.V. Gaitonde, M.D.

A seven-member board of directors governs the Uvalde County Hospital Authority. The Uvalde County Commissioners’ Court and the Uvalde County Hospital Authority appoint trustees.

2019 Places to Work
Computed Technology ACR
Mammography ACR
Magnetic Resonance Imaging ACR
4 Star Rating Centers for Medicare
Guardian of Excellence
Patient Safety Excellence
PG Pinnacle Award